Click here to report anti-volunteer bias, contact the NVFC’s Volunteer Advocacy Committee, or learn more about threats to the right to volunteer.


The National Volunteer Fire Council awards those individuals whose outstanding achievements in the fire service and community provide examples of exemplary performance. Learn more about each award below. The 2015 nomination period is now closed. 

View list of previous NVFC award winners

NVFC Lifetime Achievement Award
Sponsored by Rosenbauer
This award honors an individual who has been a volunteer firefighter for at least 20 years and whose remarkable achievements in the fire service and community exemplify outstanding performance.

NVFC Fire Prevention and Education Award
Sponsored by First Alert
Established in memory of volunteer firefighter Marc Mueller, this award honors a volunteer firefighter or non-operational volunteer (such as a Fire Corps member) who has made a significant contribution or achievement in the area of fire prevention.

NVFC Junior Firefighter of the Year Award
Sponsored by Tyco  
This award honors a junior firefighter who has gone above and beyond in their service to their fire department.

NVFC Junior Firefighter Program of the Year Award
Sponsored by Tyco
This award honors a junior firefighter program or Explorer Post that has demonstrated significant community impact, innovation, and creativity.

NVFC Legislator of the Year Award
This award honors a member of Congress for outstanding leadership and support of the volunteer fire service.
E. James Monihan Director Award
Sponsored by Provident
This award honors a current or former NVFC board member whose remarkable achievements on the NVFC board exemplify outstanding performance and have gone above normal expectations.