September 11 Victim Compensation Fund Permanent Authorization Signed Into Law

On July 29, President Trump signed into law the Never Forget the Heroes: James Zadroga, Ray Pfeifer, and Luis Alvarez Permanent Authorization of the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund Act (H.R. 1327). The bill reauthorizes the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund (VCF), which compensates victims of the 2001 terrorist attack, including personnel who responded in the aftermath of the incident, through Fiscal Year 2092.

On July 12, the House of Representatives passed H.R. 1327, which the National Volunteer Fire Council (NVFC) board formally endorsed at its 2019 spring meeting. The bill was subsequently taken up and passed by the Senate on July 23. The NVFC issued an action alert asking members to contact their Senators to ask them to vote ‘yes’ on H.R. 1327 and to oppose two amendments to the bill.

“I’d like to thank Congress and the President for making the VCF permanent,” said NVFC Chair Steve Hirsch. “Passage of this bill ensures that resources will be available to help personnel and the families of personnel who contract an illness due to occupational exposure related to responding on or after 9/11.”