NVFC EMS/Rescue Section Meets and Elects Officers

On April 8, the National Volunteer Fire Council’s (NVFC) EMS/Rescue Section met in Alexandria, VA, in conjunction with the NVFC Spring Meeting. At the meeting the Section membership voted to elect Ed Mund, Brian Foley, and Ken Wettstein to serve two-year terms as Directors-at-large on the Section Executive Committee. Juan Bonilla (Section Chair), Jules Scadden (Vice Chair), and T.J. Nedrow (Secretary) ran unopposed and also began new two-year terms on the Section Executive Committee at the Section meeting. Ken Brown (NVFC Board Representative) is the seventh member of the Section Executive Committee, appointed by the Chair of the NVFC.

Section Chair Bonilla opened with a moment of silence for Ken Knipper, the long-time Chair of the Section and the NVFC’s EMS Committee before that, who passed away in 2016. He then thanked the Section membership for their work in representing the NVFC at various stakeholder meetings over the past six months, including on ambulance construction standards, EMS performance measures, EMS education standards and certification requirements, and legislation. Bonilla also reiterated that he wants feedback and participation from the Section’s membership so that he and the rest of the leadership can do the best job possible to represent the interests of volunteer EMS.

EMS/Rescue Section members can request the minutes of the Section meeting by contacting Dave Finger, the NVFC staff liaison to the Section, at dfinger@nvfc.org.