National Wildfire Coordinating Group Seeks Nominations for 2014 Wildfire Emergency Medical Service Awards

Source: National Wildfire Coordinating Group

The National Wildfire Coordinating Group’s Incident Emergency Medical Subcommittee (IEMS) has announced they are accepting nominations for the 2014 Annual Wildfire Emergency Medical Service Awards Program. These awards recognize and honor individuals and agencies from a broad spectrum who have demonstrated outstanding work, actions, or programs in emergency medical service for wildland firefighters.

“There were many fine examples that were submitted during last year’s nominations that illustrated the extraordinary actions and initiatives taken to provide and assure the health and safety of responders on wildland fire incidents,” said Jan Peterson, Chair of the Incident Emergency Medical Subcommittee. “We hear of many responders during the year who go above and beyond the ordinary call of duty and we seek their nomination for recognition this year,” Peterson said.

The five incident emergency medical service award categories are:

  • Outstanding Wildfire EMS Individual
  • Outstanding Wildfire Squad/Crew/Team
  • Outstanding Wildfire EMS Distinguished Service
  • Excellence in Wildfire EMS and/or Rescue
  • Lifetime Achievement in Wildfire EMS Award

The IEMS Awards Committee will review nominations and select the award recipients. Deadline for nominations is November 1, 2014, and the selected nominations for each category will be announced in early 2015. Each of the awardees will be recognized by the National Wildfire Coordinating Group and IEM Subcommittee with a plaque and an award certificate.

The 2014 EMS award criteria, nomination form, and additional information can be found at