

National Volunteer Fire Council Award Recipients

Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by Lincoln Financial Group

This award honors those individuals whose remarkable achievements in the fire service and community exemplifies outstanding performance. To be considered for the award, nominees must have been a volunteer firefighter for at least 20 years. Recipients are as follows:

2024 – Steve Austin (DE)	2008 – John Doster (PA)	1992 – Ray Crouch (TN)
2023 – LeRoy Koopman (SD)	2007 – Robert T. Bettenhausen (IL)	1991 – Joseph R. Robison (MD)
2022 – Steven Klein (NY)	2006 – Lawrence F. "Sonny" Ruff (KS)	1990 – A.E. "Gus" Welter (MN)
2021 – Theodore Schroll Jr. (CT)	2005 – Patrick Hlavaty (TX)	1989 – William A. Hagevig (AK)
2020 – John Brooks (NJ)	2004 – John S. DaVanzo (NY)	1988 – George F. Comp, Jr. (MD)
2019 – Wylie Donaldson Jr. (MD)	2003 – Phil Sayer (MO)	1987 – Elsworth Greer (TX)
2018 – Ronald Farr (MI)	2002 – James Mahoney (NY)	1986 – Louis DeFillipo (NJ)
2017 – Freddy Johnson, Sr. (NC)	2001 – Dan Stevens (MD)	1985 – James L. Grote (CT)
2016 – Donald Snyder (NY)	2000 – Dale Perry (GA)	1984 – William Irvine Talley (AZ)
2015 – Edward J. Mello (AB)	1999 – Robert "Red" McKeon (CT)	1983 – Russel D. Salak (NE)
2014 – Charles Singleton (VA)	1998 – William Wutz (NY)	1982 – D.W. Mathesin (IA)
2013 – John M. Buckman III (IN)	1997 – Walter Smittle, III (WV)	1981 – Eugene M. Braun (NY)
2012 – Lawrence Plumer (WI)	1996 – John A. "Jack" Scheben (KY)	1979 – John Moehring (CT)
2011 – Glenn Jernigan (NC)	1995 – David S. Dwyer (MD)	1978 – O.E. Hirst (WI)
2010 – John McAuliffe (CT)	1994 – Aubrey N. Boudreaux (LA)	
2009 – Fred Allinson (WA)	1993 – Joseph A. Jackson (MO)	

Fire Prevention and Education Award

This award honors a volunteer firefighter or non-operational Fire Corps volunteer who exemplifies the philosophy of fire prevention. The award was established in the memory of volunteer firefighter Marc Mueller. Recipients are as follows:

2017 – William Wren (NY)	2008 – Donald Dalrymple (NY)	1999 – Joe Stambush (KY)
2016 – Michael McLeieer (MI)	2007 – Kimberly Herskowitz (PA)	1998 – Doug Rodenbeck (IN)
2015 – James Jarboe (MD)	2006 – Dayna Hilton (AR)	1997 – Tom Dillon (NJ)
2014 – Jim Pickett (AK)	2005 – Diane M. May (MD)	1995 – Joseph Abbruzzese (NJ)
2013 – Rhonda Cerny (NE)	2004 – Jeff Williams (MD)	1994 – Thomas Van Vranken (NY)
2012 – James Conomea (FL)	2003 – Don North (UT)	1993 – Brian McQueen (NY)
2011 – Kenneth Pagels (NY)	2002 – Art Mercurio (NJ)	1992 – Cindy Tarquini (MD)
2010 – Earl Cunningham, Jr. (PA)	2001 – Neil Critchlow (UT)	
2009 – Edward Sawicki (DE)	2000 – Linda Stuckey (MS)	

James P. Seavey Sr. Health and Wellness Leadership Award

Co-sponsored by VFIS and Ward Diesel Filter Systems

This award honors a volunteer firefighter, EMS provider, or rescue worker who has served as a leader in creating or promoting emergency responder health and wellness programs or initiatives in areas including, but not limited to, firefighter cancer, heart health, behavioral health, and overall health and wellness. Recipients are as follows:

2024 – Chief John Swan Sr. (IL) 2023 – Mahlon Irish Jr. (NY) 2022 – John M. Buckman III (IN) 2021 – Robert James (CT) 2020 – David Lewis (MD) 2019 – Brian McQueen (NY)

Junior Firefighter of the Year

Sponsored by California Casualty

This award honors a junior firefighter who has gone above and beyond in their service to their fire department. Recipients are as follows:

2024 – Joseph Valentino (NJ)
2023 – Kyra Kozey (NY)
2025 – Kaylee Gianforte (NC)
2021 – Paige Davis (KS)
2013 – Andrew Krahm (NY)
2020 – Donald Cieciuch (NJ)
2019 – Robert Dowd (NY)
2018 – Jared Hagen (OH)
2017 – Parker Ketler (OH)
2016 – Brittany French (WV)
2015 – James Thomas "Jimmy" Johnson (NC)
2014 – Jennifer Schaefer (ND)
2013 – Andrew Krahm (NY)
2012 – Katherine (Kassie) Brierley (CT)
2011 – Brendan Finley-Davis (KS)
2010 – Michelle Alyssa Carilli (CT)

Junior Firefighter Program of the Year

Sponsored by California Casualty

This award honors a junior firefighter program or Explorer Post that has demonstrated significant community impact, innovation, and creativity. Recipients are as follows:

2024 – Inver Grove Heights Fire Department	2016 – Northwest Fire Explorer Post 1854 (OH)
Explorer Program (MN)	2015 – Hedgesville 4-H Junior Volunteer Fire
2023 – East Norwich Junior Program (NY)	Company (WV)
2022 – Rowlett Explorer Post One (TX)	2014 – Washington County High School Fire and
2021 – Colonia Fire Department Explorer	Rescue Academy (MD)
Program (NJ)	2013 – Arcadia Junior Fire Company (MD)
2020 – Westhampton Beach Fire Department	2012 – Cherryville Fire Department (NC)
Junior Program (NY)	2011 – Lake Carmel Fire Department Explorer
2019 – Westport Fire Department Explorer Post	Post #2041 (NY)
#774 (MA)	2010 – Westhampton Beach Fire Department's
2018 – Gaston Volunteer Fire Department	Junior Fire Company (NY)
Junior Firefighter Program (NC)	

E. James Monihan Director Award

Sponsored by Provident

This award honors a current or former board member whose remarkable achievements on the NVFC board exemplify outstanding performance and have gone above normal expectations. Recipients are as follows:

2024 – Ron Roy (WA, award given posthumously) and Kevin Quinn (RI)

2022 - Philip C. Stittleburg (WI)

2021 – Thomas Miller (WV)

2020 – Michael Bird (MA, award given posthumously)

2019 – James P. Seavey Sr. (MD, award given posthumously)

2018 – Kenn Fontenot (LA)

2017 – Norm Hoeft (NE)

2015 – Pat Hlavaty (TX)

2014 – Robert "Red" McKeon (CT)

2013 – Bryant Stiles (KY, award given posthumously)

2012 – Ken Knipper (KY)

2010 – Jeff Cash (NC)